### SPECIAL SESSION MINUTES NOVEMBER 29, 2021 BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT VIDEOCONFERENCE AND CONFERENCE CALL VIA ZOOM

**PRESENT:** Commissioners Darrell Brooks; Michael Lawlor, Tracey Meares (joined - 6:18 p.m.); Isaiah Miranda; Evelise Ribeiro; and Donald Walker

Interim Chief Renee Dominguez: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Carl Jacobson: Department of Police Service Captain David Zannelli: Department of Police Service Lieutenant Manmeet Colon: Department of Police Service Lieutenant Dana Smith: Department of Police Service Sergeant Yelena Borisova: Department of Police Service Sergeant D. Cohen: Department of Police Service Sergeant Paul Finch: Department of Police Service Sergeant Michael Fumiatti: Department of Police Service Sergeant Brian McDermott: Department of Police Service Officer Christina Altieri: Department of Police Service Officer Ed Dunford: Department of Police Service Officer Derek Huelman: Department of Police Service Officer Paul Pereira: Department of Police Service Officer Scott Shumway: Department of Police Service

Officer Michael Cotto: President, Elm City Local Officer Jonathan Lambe: Vice President, Elm City Local Floyd Dugas, Esquire: Representing Chief Dominguez Michelle Duprey, Esquire: Deputy Corporation Counsel Marshall Seger, Esquire: Representing Elm City Local

Elia Alexiades Tom Arnone Jakub Baliga Tenniel Brandon Thomas Breen: New Haven Independent Jayvan Carter Kyle Cogliati Rick Crouse David DeRubeis Sam Fawcett O. Garcia Steven Hamm Michael Hanes Clara Hill Iva L. Johnson **Reverend Boise Kimber** Ben Lambert: New Haven Register Jocelyn Lavandier Michael Limauro Jean Maher Christopher Nguyen Mary O'Leary Vincent Rawlinson Jurgen Reci Camelo Rivera AnneMarie Rivera-Berrios Janel Robinson Tyren Robinson M. Roman K. Simpkins David Stratton Maxine Wright Ax Daniel's iPhone Freddy Joe Luiz's iPhone Nikki's iPhone Shayna Sam M.E.G.A, Inc. **REVVI 5G** 

#### **OPEN SESSION**

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 p.m. by Evelise Ribeiro, Chair, presiding.

### PERSONNEL MATTERS

1. Discussion and action on the recommendation to remove the following candidates from Eligibility List #21-01:

#81 - Ventura, Freddy#109 - Alicea, Julio

■ Chief Dominguez indicated that she did not know if any of the candidates were present. Sergeant Finch indicated that Freddy Ventura did not respond to any e-mails. and Julio Alicea withdrew his application on November 24, 2021.

■ Commissioner Ribeiro indicated that the Board need only remove Freddy Ventura from the list. The Board would acknowledge Julio Alicea's withdrawal.

- \*\* Commissioner Walker motioned to remove Freddy Ventura, Candidate # 81, from Eligibility List 21-01 for Chief Dominguez's recommendation
- \*\* Commissioner Miranda seconded

Sergeant Finch indicated that there was a Freddy logged on and wanted to make sure it was not Freddy Ventura. Freddy Ventura was called. There were no audible response. Captain Zanelli indicted that someone typed in the chat that it was not Freddy was not Mr. Freddy Ventura.

- \*\* Motion passed unanimously.
  - 2. Discussion and action on the recommendation to hire the following candidates from Eligibility List #21-01:
    - #72 Lytle Jamie
      #92 Pate, Adrian
      #97 Reci, Jurgen
      #98 Wright, Maxine
      #101 Nguyen, Christopher
      #105 Limauro, Michael
      #104 Brandon, Tenniel
      #116 Cogliati, Kyle
      #119 Hill, Clara

■ Chief Dominguez indicated that the agenda needed to be amended to reflect a change. Commissioner Ribeiro responded by saying that the minutes could not be amended as it was a special meeting. However, the change would be noted for the record.

■ Chief Dominguez indicated that #92, Adrian Pate, had requested to defer to the next academy class due to unforeseen circumstances.

\*\* Commissioner Walker motioned to hire the following candidates from Eligibility List #21-01: Jamie Lytle, Adrian Pate, Jurgen Reci, Maxine Wright, Christopher Nguyen, Michael Limauro, Tenniel Brandon, Kyle Cogliati and Clara Hill

■ Commissioner Ribeiro indicated that the record should reflect the amendment to the motion that there would be no action regarding #92, Adrian Pate.

Commissioner Walker acknowledged that Mr. Pate's name should not have been included.

- \*\* Commissioner Brooks seconded
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously

■ The candidates were congratulated.

## **INTERNAL AFFAIRS REPORT**

Vote and consideration on recommendation on discipline from Chief Dominguez for Sergeant Sanders regarding IA Case #211-041.

Commissioner Ribeiro asked Sergeant Sanders if she would like to be heard in open or closed session. Attorney Segar indicated that she would like to be heard in open session.
 After all the presentation of both parties and the Board's questions of both attorneys the Board went into executive session.

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

- \*\* Commissioner Brooks motioned to Enter Executive Session for Personnel Matters
- \*\* Commissioner Meares seconded
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously

## The Board entered Executive Session at 8:00 p.m. The Board exited Executive Session at 8:47 p.m.

Commissioner Meares enumerated specifically what statistics and/or documents the Board would like to have before it renders its decision.

■ Commissioner Ribeiro asked if the motion was to recess until a later date pending the receipt of information as specifically stated by Commissioner Meares as well as to review the information that was received this morning in order to be fair and equitable in our decision making regarding this matter. Commissioners Meares and Walker both replied yes.

- \*\* Commissioner Walker moved the motion
- \*\* Commissioner Meares seconded
- \*\* Motion passed unanimously

# \*\* Commissioner Walker moved to record the Board coming out of its deliberations

## \*\* Commissioner Miranda seconded

# \*\* Motion passed unanimously

The next regular meeting will be on December 14, 2021. The Board recessed at 8:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sotonye Otunba-Payne