SPECIAL SESSION MINUTES AUGUST 3, 2021 BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT VIDEOCONFERENCE AND CONFERENCE CALL VIA ZOOM

PRESENT: Commissioners Michael Lawlor; Isaias Miranda; Evelise Ribeiro; and Donald Walker

Interim Chief Renee Dominguez: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Carl Jacobson: Department of Police Service Captain David Zannelli: Department of Police Service Sergeant Yelena Borisova: Department of Police Service Sergeant Dana Smith: Department of Police Service Officer Raul Pereira: Department of Police Service Ramon Davis: Administrative Assistant II

Michelle Duprey, Esquire: Deputy Corporation Counsel Bruce Fischer: Transportation, Traffic and Parking Karla Lindquist: Transportation, Traffic and Parking Giovanni Zinn: City of New Haven Engineer

Rebecca Bombero Ruben Cardenas Dominic Carew Frank Dogali Tyler Evans Andrew Gierina Aaron Goode Natalie Kainz Dr. Mark Kirschner Ben Lambert - New Haven Register Andrea Moore Paul Nye Samantha Otero Mary Tomayko Lior Trestman Anthony Wallace

OPEN SESSION

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 p.m., Evelise Ribeiro, Chair, presiding. Commissioner Ribeiro read an excerpt of the Notification/Agenda into the record.

1. Request from the Department of Transportation, Traffic and Parking for establishing a TWO-WAY CYCLE TRACK on the east side of the Yale Avenue between Derby Avenue and Central Avenue with related regulatory changes.

Following the special meeting of the Traffic Authority, Ms. Lindquist, Mr. Fischer and Mr. Zinn excused themselves at 6:18 p.m.

2. Discussion and action on the recommendation to remove the following candidates from Eligibility List #21-01:

#1 Tyler Evans
#4 Andrea Moore
#6 Samantha Otero
#8 Kyle Porter
#21 Jose Diaz
#24 Frank Dogali
#24 Ruben Cardenas
#32 Spencer Soares

■ Chief Dominquez indicated she was requesting the removal of the above-listed candidates. She indicated one candidate withdraw and asked how this withdrawal would be handled.

■ Commissioner Ribeiro indicated the Board would accept the withdrawal given that there is a written withdrawal. The Board would remove the candidate as part of the agenda.

■ Chief Dominguez asked if the remaining candidates had opted to be heard in a closed session. Captain Zannelli indicated that they all had opted to be heard during the closed session.

Commissioner Ribeiro went on to explain to the candidates what an open and a closed session means.

■ Commissioner Lawlor indicated that at the last meeting Commissioner Meares had some serious reservations about the vetting process. She could not attend the meeting this evening because she is away on a scheduled vacation. He wondered if someone could articulate the need to make these decisions that evening versus in a week or two. He was cognizant of a scheduling issue regarding the class moving forward. He would like to understand it better before going into executive session.

■ Chief Dominguez responded by saying that the three candidates that were not taken off the list on July 13, 2021, Tyler Evan, Andrea Moore and Samantha Otero, were ranked one, four and six. The Department was looking to send some candidates to the POST Academy and it has certain deadlines. Civil service rules require the Department go in the order candidates are ranked on the eligibility list. So, there needs to be hiring or removal from the Eligibility List 21-01. The Department is not in any position to hire out of order. If this is delayed for two weeks, the opportunity to remove or advance to the next phase of the process would be missed. The Department then would be unable to send six candidates to the next class. The Department was under time constraint. It was important that the Board determine whether to push any of these three individuals she just named onto the next rounds in order to put them in a position to be hired or removed from the list.

■ Commissioner Lawlor asked if any of them did not proceed that evening, whether they could be eligible to come through in the next round.

■ Chief Dominguez responded by saying the candidates can either be removed the list that evening or they can be moved forward to the next phase of the testing process.

■ Commissioner Lawlor asked if any of candidates were removed that evening, whether it would bar them from applying in the future. He was trying to be mindful of Commissioner Meares' concerns as was discussed previously.

■ Chief Dominguez indicated that they would be able to reapply, but they would be out of this test. They would come off of this active eligibility list.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board entered Executive Session at 6:24 p.m.

- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Exit Executive Session
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously

The Board exited Executive Session at 7:52 p.m.

- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Remove #1, Tyler Evans, from Eligibility List #12-01
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** For: None
- ** Against: Commissioners Lawlor, Miranda, Ribeiro and Walker

Motion failed.

- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Remove #4, Andrea Moore, from Eligibility List #12-01
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** For: Commissioner Lawlor Against: Commissioners Miranda, Ribeiro and Walker

Motion failed.

- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Remove #6, Samantha Otero, from Eligibility List #12-01
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously
- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Remove #21, Jose Diaz, from Eligibility List #12-01
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously
- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Remove #24, Frank Dogali, from Eligibility List #12-01
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously

- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Remove #32, Spencer Soares, from Eligibility List #12-01
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously
- ** Commissioner Walker moved to Remove #8, Kyle Porter, from Eligibility List #12-01
- ** Commissioner Lawlor seconded
- ** Motion passed unanimously

Commissioner Lawlor stated that he had had training the previous day and would continue training the following day. He had had the opportunity to participate in the Field Training Officer training. He indicated that he and Chief Higgins of the Yale University Campus Police agreed that there was an impressive quality of officers in leadership roles in the Department.
 Chief Dominguez thanked Commissioner Lawlor for his comments. She further indicated that they had thoughtfully and purposefully selected the FTOs as it is a very important role in the Department.

- ** Commissioner Miranda moved to Adjourn the Special Meeting.
- ** Commissioner Walker seconded.
- ** Unanimously passed

The next regular meeting will be on August 10 2021. The Board adjourned at 7:57 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sotonye Otunba-Payne