SPECIAL SESSION MINUTES MARCH 31, 2020 BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT

PRESENT: Commissioners Anthony Dawson; Isaias Miranda; Evelise Ribeiro; and Gregory Smith

Chief Otoniel Reyes: Department of Police Service

Assistant Chief Renee Dominguez: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Karl Jacobson: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Herbert Sharp: Department of Police Service Lieutenant David Zannelli: Department of Police Service Sergeant Dana Smith: Department of Police Service Officer Raul Pereira: Department of Police Service

Ramon Davis: Administrative Assistant II

Cathleen Simpson: Director of Labor Relations

Michael Wolak, Esquire: Senior Deputy Corporation Counsel

Miguel Pittman, Sr.: Community and Police Relations

OPEN SESSION

The Chair read an excerpt from the Special Meeting Notification/Agenda into the record as follows: A Special Meeting of the Board of Police Commissioners will take place on Tuesday, March 31st, 2020 at six o'clock, and will be conducted due to the ... public health crisis, as a ... meeting utilizing "Zoom" ... The public can access it as well ...

The special meeting will be held to consider the following:

Discussion and action on the recommendation to remove the following candidates from Eligibility List #19-37:

Michael Corso
Samantha Otero
Prince Prescott III
David Wirkus
Hannibal Gibson
Mark Cofrancesco
Tyreese Vassell
James Palmer, Jr.
Philip Maresca
George Luna

Marelyn Vega

The Special Meeting notice will also serve as an agenda. Respectfully by Ramona Davis for the Board of Police Commissioners.

The meeting was called to order at 6:0 p.m., Anthony Dawson, Chair, presiding.

- The commissioners introduced themselves.
- Chief Reyes stated thanked the commissioners for taking time out of their busy schedules. The background investigative team, headed by Assistant Chief Sharp and Lieutenant Zannelli, have conducted a thorough background check.
- Assistant Chief Sharp thanked the commissioners for making themselves available for this process. He stated that Sergeant Smith had e-mailed each candidate's packet to each commissioners. Each candidate had been given ample opportunity to review their packet.
- An attendance of the candidates present was taken. There were nine candidates present remotely.
- Assistant Chief Sharp stated that Michael Corso and Prince Prescott III did not respond to emails sent. Justin Summers is not present. He is on the list. He has been moved to the next Board of Police Commissioners' meeting on the 14th of April, 2020.
- The candidates were asked if they wanted to be heard in an open or closed session. Attorney Wolak explained the difference between the two options.
- Ms. Samantha Otero opted to be heard in an open session. She addressed the Board and was asked some questions by the commissioners
- Mr. James Palmer, Jr., opted to be heard in an open session. He addressed the Board and was asked questions by the commissioners
- ■Mr. George Luna opted to be heard in an open session. He addressed the Board and was asked questions by the commissioners.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Enter Executive Session for Personnel Matters
- ** Commissioner Miranda seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- Ms. Samantha Otero asked if she could address the Board again in order to address what Sergeant Smith mentioned. Commissioner Dawson replied that Sergeant Smith was not allowed to mention what he wanted to and so there was no need to respond.

The Board entered Executive Session at 6:55 p.m.

- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Exit Executive Session
- ** Commissioner Miranda seconded
- ** Unanimously passed

The Board exited Executive Session at 7:53 p.m.

- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Michael Corso from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Samantha Otero from the Eligibility List #19-37

- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Prince Prescott, III, from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of David Wirkus from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Hannibal Gibson from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Marelyn Vega from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Mark Cofrancesco from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Tyreese Vassell from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of James Palmer, Jr., from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of Philip Maresca from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded
- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro moved to Approve the Removal of George Luna from the Eligibility List #19-37
- ** Commissioner Smith seconded

- ** Unanimously passed
- ** Commissioner Smith moved to Adjourn the Special Meeting
- ** Commissioner Ribeiro seconded
- ** Unanimously passed

The Board adjourned at 7:59 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sotonye Otunba-Payne