

February 11, 2021

REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE NEW HAVEN SOLID WASTE AND RECYCLING AUTHORITY

A regular meeting of the New Haven Solid Waste and Recycling Authority (the "Authority") was held on February 11, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. online via Zoom Video Conference call.

Board members present: G. Antunes, W. Augustine, R. Bonito, V. Fasano, R. Miller, and M. Targove

Others present Pierre Barbour, Executive Director Malinda M. Figueroa, Secretary

Gerald Antunes began the meeting at 5:35 p.m. with the approval of the January 14, 2021 regular meeting minutes. Richard Miller made a motion to approve the meeting minutes, seconded by Margaret Targove. There was no further discussion.

Voice Vote:

AYES: G. Antunes, W. Augustine, R. Bonito, V. Fasano, R. Miller, and M. Targove

NAYES: NONE

ABSTENSIONS: NONE

Pierre Barbour presented the treasurers report for January 2021.

Mr. Barbour presented the MSW and Recycling tonnage reports for January 2021. He noted that he was going to discuss the material recovery findings concerning the high level of contamination reported in the recycling materials delivered to the Williamntic facility.

Mr. Barbour advised the Board that he has made a budgetary transfer from Personnel to the legal and other contractual services line items to allow for the overage due to insurance coverage overage and additional legal services for pending court cases.

Newsletters have been distributed to Alders, community management teams and the Chief Administrative Offices.

Mr. Barbour updated the Board on the status of its application before the City Plan Commission. Mr. Miller suggested that the Chair request a waiver from the City Plan Commission Chair, Edward Mattison, concerning the expanded surface area analysis as the application seeks a change in operation the surface area coverage remains the same.

Mr. Barbour stated that the new carrier coverages for insurance has decreased from \$91,000 to \$73,000 and there is no policy coverage changes.

There was no new business discussed.

There were no public comments.

Mr. Fasano made a motion to adjourn at 6:21 p.m., seconded by Ms. Miller. There was no further discussion.

Voice Vote:

AYES: G. Antunes, W. Augustine, R. Bonito, V. Fasano, R. Miller, and M. Targove

NAYES: NONE

ABSTENSIONS: NONE

Respectfully submitted, Malinda M. Figueroa Secretary