## SPECIAL SESSION MINUTES APRIL 18, 2022 BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT VIDEOCONFERENCE AND CONFERENCE CALL VIA ZOOM

**PRESENT:** Commissioners Darrell Brooks; Michael Lawlor; Tracey Meares; Isaiah Miranda; Evelise Ribeiro; and Donald Walker

Interim Chief Renee Dominguez: Department of Police Service Assistant Chief Karl Jacobson: Department of Police Service Captain David Zannelli: Department of Police Service Lieutenant Brendan Borer: Department of Police Service Lieutenant Manmeet Colon: Department of Police Service Lieutenant Dana Smith: Department of Police Service Lieutenant Jason Weted: Department of Police Service Sergeant Chris Cameron: Department of Police Service Sergeant Cherelle Carr: Department of Police Service Sergeant Justin Cole: Department of Police Service Sergeant Carlos Conceicao: Department of Police Service Sergeant Michael Criscuolo: Department of Police Service Sergeant Louis DeCrescenzo: Department of Police Service Sergeant Martin Feliciano: Department of Police Service Sergeant Joshua Kyle: Department of Police Service Sergeant Jonathan Lambe: Department of Police Service Sergeant Jarrell Lowery: Department of Police Service Sergeant Rosa Melendez: Department of Police Service Sergeant Francisco Sanchez: Department of Police Service Sergeant Jasmine Sanders: Department of Police Service Sergeant Betsy Segui: Department of Police Service Sergeant Steve Spofford: Department of Police Service Detective Freddy Salmeron: Department of Police Service Officer Jakub Baliga: Department of Police Service Officer Ed Dunford: Department of Police Service Officer Nancy Jordan: Department of Police Service Officer Paul Pereira: Department of Police Service Officer Bryan Phillips: Department of Police Service Officer Scott Shumway: Department of Police Service1 Officer Kenroy Taylor: Department of Police Service Eva Perry-Lambert: Administrative Assistant

Wendella Ault Battey, Esquire: Director of Labor Relations

Florencio Cotto: President, Elm City Local

Floyd Dugan, Esquire: Counsel for the City of New Haven Michelle Duprey, Esquire: Deputy Corporation Counsel

~ ~ 1

Regina Rush-Kittle: CAO, City of New Haven

Marshall Segar, Esquire: Counsel for Elm City Local

Jose Crespo: Board of Alders

Laura Giesby

Ben Lambert: New Haven Register

Patricia King Tyren Robinson Cristin Sheehan K. Simpkins Gregory Smith

Honda Smith: Board of Alders

Sophie Sonnenfeld: Yale Daily News

J. Wright Mrs. Young Daniel's iPhone Derek's iPhone

Donny's iPhone

Nikki's iPhone

Ramona's iPad

Chanz

Christina

CR

Detention

Intel

Joe R.

Liz

NH Resident

**REEVL 5G** 

Sam

Zoom User

166

## **OPEN SESSION**

The meeting was called to order at 6:07 p.m. by Evelise Ribeiro, Chair, presiding.

## PERSONNEL MATTERS

- 1. Consideration and vote on the recommendation from Chief Dominguez for discipline of Officer Kenroy Taylor regarding Patrol Disciplines
  - After hearing the evidence, the Board deliberated in executive session.
  - After the executive session, Commissioner Lawlor, who was outside the country, indicated that his intention was to abstain from actually casting a vote. He was not recusing himself. He did not have a conflict. As he did not have the actual, full

~ ~

physical binder with him and relied on the electronic documents, he would just as soon not in any way muddy the waters by casting a vote.

- Commissioner Lawlor indicated he did listen carefully to what was said at the hearing. He had strong opinions in general on this topic. The one thing he wanted to say is that it is a new day. As Chief Dominguez accurately stated a few times, the rules have changed, and the expectations have changed. And as a result, the standards are going to change.
- Commissioner Lawlor indicated that he was troubled by one of the comments that the attorney for the union made that in essence everybody does it, this happens all the time. Well, that's not okay. If he could cast a vote, he would have no problem casting it. For the sake of any concerns as to whether or not every single document got to him electronically, he would not cast a vote. He would, respectfully, abstained from the final vote.
- \*\* Commissioner Walker motioned to proceed with Interim Chief's recommendation for termination in the case of Kenroy Taylor
- \*\* Commissioner Meares seconded
- \*\* For: Commissioners Brooks, Meares, Miranda, Ribeiro and Walker
- \*\* Abstain: Commissioner Lawlor

The motion carried.

The next regular meeting will be on May 10, 2022. The Board adjourned at 8:32 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sotonye Otunba-Payne

~ ~